注册帐号
搜索
热搜: 活动 交友
查看: 320|回复: 0

Finding a Yardstick for Education

[复制链接]
发表于 2016-5-17 12:14:48 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
By Stuart Deane
As a retired teacher, I am both saddened and angered by the frenzy for standardized testing to evaluate both students and teachers, though I have been retired for ten years and no longer have a stake in the game.
On the other hand, I have some insights after 35 years in the profession—three as a science and physical education teacher at a school for juvenile offenders in Dorchester, Mass, and 32 years as a history/health/science/French/journalism/special education teacher at Masconomet Regional on the North Shore of Massachusetts.
William Butler Yeats photographed in 1903 by Alice Boughton (Wikipedia)

My favorite description of education comes from William Butler Yeats:
Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.
The measure for success in education should not be a ruler but rather a thermometer.
The root word for education is educe, to draw out, not induce, to force in.
Teaching is that magic moment when two people connect to elevate the self-esteem of a young person, to promote understanding, or to ignite a love of a particular academic discipline.
The highest goals of education should be a love of literature, a passion for writing, an appreciation of history, a recognition of the beauty of math and science in explaining the world, the lighting of a creative idea in an artist, the development of self-confidence in an athlete, an intrigue for how things work in an industrial arts student …
Does drilling for standardized tests promote any of that?
The highlights in my career are the notes I received from students and parents. Two follow: